1961-71 Dodge Sweptline Truck Forum

Sweptline Showcase

Sponsored Links

first off thanks for reading this, your SOUND advice is greatly appreciated as this is my first time at bat with a mild fixer-upper! as you give advice please understand i'm a confident beginner and will need to have the "tech talk" toned down to a level i can understand - i hope all 
FIRST TIMER COULD REALLY USE SOME ADVICE ON GETTIN MY BEAST ON THE ROAD!!!
Posted by: foss (67.166.87.---)
Date: September 11, 2009 12:43AM

first off thanks for reading this, your SOUND advice is greatly appreciated as this is my first time at bat with a mild fixer-upper! as you give advice please understand i'm a confident beginner and will need to have the "tech talk" toned down to a level i can understand - i hope all you pro's can have some sympathy for me. the main thing is there doesn't seem to be a job that's ever been too big for me and with the help of all the dude's on here and the shop manual i've got comin my way (http://www.autobooksbishko.com/Items/1969-1971%20Dodgetruck%20Shop%20Manual/689.html) i feel i'll be able to handle all the work that needs to be done myself. that's why we're all here anyways right?

a little over a week ago i trailered home "the lady in red", a 1969 D100 4x4. she was 10 minutes south of Canada, in central Washington. WHAT I KNOW SHE'S GOT: 440 - mileage unknown, carter competition carb, edlebrock intake, some kind of racing transmission (i was told). She used to be a manual - one of the fellas that had the truck before left the clutch pedal installed when he changed it over to an auto, i'd like to fix that someday. uh... what else... warn hubs, i don't think the front end is o.e.